National Arboretum Canberra

Information Alert Graphic

The Village Centre at the National Arboretum Canberra will be closed to the public from 2pm on Tuesday 27 November 2018.
It will reopen to the public on Wednesday 28th November 2018.

Ceremonial tree plantings

The National Arboretum Canberra is home to ceremonial trees planted by leaders, dignitaries and public figures from Australia and around the world. The Arboretum's first ceremonial tree, a Yoshino cherry, Prunus x yedoensis, was planted by His Excellency Mr Takaaki Kojima, Ambassador of Japan on 27 July 2007 in Forest 17. His Excellency was accompanied by Mr Jon Stanhope, ACT Chief Minister.

Ceremonial tree plantings began in the Central Valley (Forest 22) in 2009 and 42 trees now occupy this space. Many Australian and international leaders, dignitaries and public figures have planted trees in Central Valley, including Her Majesty, Gyalyum Sangay Choden Wangchuck, Queen Mother of Bhutan; His Excellency Mr Mark Rutte, Prime Minister of the Kingdom of the Netherlands; Crown Prince Frederik and Crown Princess Mary of Denmark; Her Excellency the Governor-General of Australia, Ms Quentin Bryce and Mr Thomas Keneally, renowned Australian author.

There will be many more ceremonial tree plantings in Central Valley in the years ahead. As the trees grow, it will become a shady walkway through a diverse range of trees, representing many people and places from around the world.

Map and List of Ceremonial Tree Plantings in Central Valley (PDF 227KB)

Forest of Remembrance. Her Excellency Ms Quentin Bryce AC, The Governor-General of Australia, The Returned and Services League of Australia and Kindred Organisations Committee (KOC) Tree Planting - 102 Turkish pines - 12/11/2010.

The Anglo-Boer War Ceremonial Tree Planting - Clanwilliam cedars - 26/6/2011


Mr Andrew Colvin APM OAM, Commissioner of the Australian Federal Police and Mr Andrew Barr MLA, Chief Minister of the ACT - 11/12/2017

His Excellency Mr Issoufou Mahamadou, President of the Republic of Niger - 13/10/2017

Her Excellency Kolinda Grabar-Kitarović, President of the Republic of Croatia - 16/8/2017

The Honourable Mr Manasseh Damukana Sogavare MP, Prime Minister of Solomon Islands and Madam Mrs Emmy Sogavare – 14/8/2017

His Excellency Maithripala Sirisena, President of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka - 24/5/2017

His Excellency the Honourable Baron Divavesi Waqa, President of the Republic of Nauru, and Madam Louisa Waqa - 7/4/2017


Their Majesties King Abdullah II ibn Al Hussein and Queen Rania Al Abdullah of the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan - 24/11/2016

His Excellency Dr Mohammad Javad Zarif, Minister for Foreign Affairs, Islamic Republic of Iran - 15/03/2016


Their Royal Highnesses The Prince of Wales and The Duchess of Cornwall - 11/11/2015

Ms Jocelyn Plovits, Chair of the Friends of the National Arboretum Canberra - 17/9/2015

His Excellency Dr Jakaya Mrisho Kikwete, President of the United Republic of Tanzania and Her Excellency Mama Salma Kikwete - 28/7/2015

Tree dedication by Mr David Noble, discoverer of the Wollemi pine (Wollemia nobilis) - 21/7/2015

Their Excellencies General the Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove AK MC and Lady Cosgrove - 20/7/2015

Their Excellencies Lt Gen The Rt Hon Sir Jerry Mateparae GNZM QSO, Governor-General of New Zealand, and Lady Janine Mateparae - 28/5/2015

His Excellency Mr Nguyen Tan Dung, Prime Minister of the Socialist Republic of Vietnam and Madame Tran Thanh Kiem - 18/3/2015

Previous years

The ACT Government is committed to improving the accessibility of web content. To provide feedback or request an accessible version of a document please contact us or phone 13 22 81.
Bookmark and Share

Follow us on

Feedback | Languages | Sitemap | Jobs ACT | Privacy | Disclaimer | Copyright Page last updated on 21 November 2018